Arbi Tomato Curry (Chamagadda tomato)


arbi tomato curry

Arbi is our family favourite vegetable, everyone likes it in whichever form it is made.We can make arbi tomato curry, arbi fry, arbi tomato mutton curry. I will be posting all these recipes soon.

We rarely find arbi in uk, once my hubby brought home some fresh arbi and I wanted to make arbi tomato curry so I started peeling them and something strange was happening to my hands. My hands were “itching”, I couldn’t bear it. Then I called my mother-in-law and told her about the itching, she told me to apply some oil and salt to hands, it reduces itching.
After that day I first apply oil and salt then start peeling arbi.(useful tip ☺)

I usually cook curries in a pressure cooker, It takes less time to cook and also easy to cook.😆

arbi tomato curry

Arbi Tomato Curry(Chamagadda Tomato)

Ingredients:

250gms arbi/chamagadda/taro root

5-6 tomatoes

1 onion

2 green chillies

1 tbsp chopped coriander leaves

1 1/4 tsp red chilli powder

1/2 tsp turmeric powder

1 tsp coriander powder

1 tsp garam masala powder

2 tbsps oil

Salt to taste

Method:

1. Wash and peel the arbi. Cut the arbi into halves vertically and keep them aside.

2. Finely chop onions,tomatoes. Cut the green chillies into pieces.

3. Heat 1 tbsp oil in a pan, add arbi and fry till they turn light brown. Keep them aside.

4. Heat 1 tbsp oil in a pressure cooker. Add chopped onions, green chillies and fry till the onion turns light brown. Now add chopped tomatoes and fry for 2 minutes. Add turmeric, red chilli powder, coriander powder, coriander leaves, salt, garam masala powder and mix well. Fry till the tomatoes become soft.

5. Now add the lightly fried arbi and add 3 cups of water. Mix and check the seasoning. Close the cooker lid and cook it for 4 whistles.

6. Open the cooker lid, If the gravy is too watery, simmer for 2-3 minutes until it gets thick.

7. Serve hot with chapathi or rice.

Leave a Reply

